The Brazilian GP in numbers

This Sunday Formula 1 returns to the Autódromo José Carlos Pace in Interlagos for the 45th Brazilian Grand Prix. Here is a look at the Grand Prix in numbers:

1 – Lewis Hamilton won his first world title at Interlagos in dramatic style, overtaking Timo Glock on the final corner to steal the championship from Felipe Massa.

3 – The Brazilian Grand Prix has been won by a native Brazilian driver for the first 3 years after its entry into the race calendar. Lotus driver Emerson Fittipaldi in 1973 and 1974, followed by Sao Paulo native Carlos Pace in 1975.

4 – Four drivers from the current grid have won at Brazil. Felipe Massa (2006, 2008), Kimi Raikkonen (2007), Sebastian Vettel (2010, 2013) and Lewis Hamilton (2016).

5 – Five Brazilian drivers have gone on to win their home Grand Prix. Emerson Fittipaldi (1973-74),  Carlos Pace (1975), Nelson Piquet (1983, 1986), Felipe Massa (2006, 2008) and most famously Ayrton Senna (1991, 1993).

6 – Alain Prost holds the record for the most wins at the Brazilian Grand Prix, the Frenchman has passed the checkered flag in first place 6 times between 1982 and 1990.

12 – McLaren are the most successful manufacturers in Brazil, winning the Grand Prix a total of 12 times, closely followed by Ferrari with 10 race victories.

14 – The number of pole positions that have been converted into race wins in Brazil’s 44 year Grand Prix history.

71 – The number of laps in this years Brazilian Grand Prix on Sunday.

Stay up-to-date with the latest F1 race and technical developments on our Twitter and Facebook pages.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s